Get Updates

There are now 1,435 local students at nine schools in the Waitomo District forming the new Waitomo Community of Learning.

“This means students of the Waitomo District will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom,” Barbara Kuriger said.

“I’m proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our children.”

“Many of the schools in the Waitomo District are smaller in size, and in rural areas. The prospect for working collaboratively across all schools in the District means the education opportunities for those students are enhanced. The additional support by both teachers and students will contribute to the aim of raising educational success in this community.

“Across the country, more than 1,000 schools are working together in Communities of Learning to raise student achievement – supporting more than 320,000 Kiwi kids.

“This is 40 per cent of all New Zealand schools.”

The communities are funded through the National-led Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative.  Evidence shows quality of teaching and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.

“The communities will work together on challenges they identify for their students, who will then benefit from schools sharing their expertise and resources.

“National is focusing on improving performance in the schooling system to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed,” Kuriger said.

NB: the schools in the new Waitomo Community of Learning are as follows:

  • Aria School
  • Rangitoto School
  • St Joseph's Catholic School (Te Kuiti)
  • Centennial Park School
  • Piopio Primary School
  • Pukenui School (Te Kuiti)
  • Piopio College
  • Te Kuiti High School    
  • Te Kuiti Primary School

Share this post