Get Updates

Taranaki-King Country MP Barbara Kuriger is calling for nominations from the community for the 26th annual Green Ribbon Awards.

The Green Ribbon Awards recognise the outstanding contributions made by individuals, organisations, businesses and communities to protecting and enhancing New Zealand’s environment.

“I see this as a chance to honour our regions influential environmental leaders,” Barbara Kuriger said. 

“We are privileged to live in a part of the world where we are renowned for our environmental efforts, and I recognise that successful leaders are at the helm of championing such causes.

“I know first-hand how vibrant the region we live in is, and I am proud to support environmental best practice.

“Both business, enterprise, and community groups all play a part in protecting our environment. Categories include protecting biodiversity, caring for our water ways, and protecting our coasts and oceans.

“Taranaki-King Country is a special place, in that we are bordered by ocean on one side and lush forestry on the other. I am confident with the philanthropy, partnership, and leadership that exists in our region, there is the potential for a multitude of nominations from the Taranaki-King Country for this award,” Kuriger said.  

Historically, the electorate has had a number of successes in the Green Ribbon Awards:

  • 2013 – Taranaki Regional Council, Taranaki. For their Riparian Management Programme implementation.
  • 2007 – David & Juliette Wallace, Maungatautari. For their efforts to protect, restore and enhance Maungatautari.
  • 2006 - Xtreme Waste and the Whaingaroa Community, Raglan. For the community’s success in providing waste management solutions and diverting nearly 75% of all waste volume from the landfill. 
  • 2002 – Whaingaroa Harbour Management, Raglan. For encouraging riparian planting and improving water care in the rural environment.
  • 2000 – Di & Graham McBride of Te Kowhai, Waikato. For their link between good business and good environmental management through the sustainable farming practices applied on their farm.

This year’s categories are:

Environmental projects

  • Protecting our biodiversity
  • Caring for our water
  • Protecting our coasts and oceans
  • Resilience to climate change
  • Minimising our waste 


  • Business leadership
  • Community leadership
  • Kaitiaki leadership
  • Philanthropy and partnership
  • Leadership in communication and education

Nominations can be made through the Ministry for the Environment -

Share this post