Get Updates

New figures show we now have 11 Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako in the Taranaki-King Country electorate, with 41 schools and five ECE providers involved.

“The fact that we have so many schools working together is great news for our young people,” Barbara Kuriger said.

“Today we welcome the news of the formation of the Otorohanga Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako, with five schools and 688 students represented. I would like to commend the Principals, staff, and students in the Otorohanga District getting on board this fantastic education initiative.   

“In my first term as the local MP, I have visited all of the schools announced in today’s Otorohanga Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako, and I know the Principals and teachers to all be exceptional educational leaders. I am delighted that more of our students are able to benefit from teachers working together to share best practice and raise achievement across the whole community.

“The students in the Otorohanga District will benefit from shared teaching practices in expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom.

“It is also good news that more young children will be better supported as they progress from early learning into primary and then secondary education within one community,” said Kuriger.

Nationally there are now 197 Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako, covering 1630 schools, 184 early learning services and four tertiary education providers. More than 550,000 young people are benefiting from the collaborative model and 1100 teachers and principals have been appointed to new positions in Communities of Learning.

“Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako are no longer just the way of the future for New Zealand education, but the reality of how our schools and providers are operating,” said Kuriger.

“Through sharing data, resources and expert teachers to focus on tackling their achievement challenges, this model of collaboration is supporting educators to ensure all students have the best opportunity to achieve all that they’re capable of,” said Kuriger.

The communities are funded through the National-led Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative. Evidence shows quality of teaching and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.

Note to Editor: schools part of the newly formed Otorohanga Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako include:

  • Kio Kio School
  • Maihiihi School
  • St Mary’s Catholic School (Otorohanga)
  • Waitomo Caves School
  • Otorohanga College

Share this post