Get Updates

There are now 1217 local students at eight Inglewood schools forming the Inglewood Community of Learning.

“This means local kids in Taranaki will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom,” Barbara Kuriger said.

“I’m proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our kids.”

“Across the country, 793 schools have now committed to working together to raise student achievement – this will impact on nearly 250,000 Kiwi kids.

“This is about a third of New Zealand students who will now benefit from their schools sharing expertise and resources,” Kuriger said.

These school communities are funded through the Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative.  Evidence shows quality of education and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.

“The communities will work together on challenges they identify for their children, such as maths, or science, or reading.

“National is focusing on improving performance in the schooling system to ensure every child has the opportunity to succeed,” Kuriger said.

Note - the eight schools are: Egmont Village School, Inglewood High School, Inglewood Primary School, Kaimata School, Norfolk School, Ratapiko School, St Patrick’s School, Waitoriki School.

Share this post